Buttermilk Ice Cream

I remember the first time I tried buttermilk.  I was visiting my grandparents’ house, something we did often.  They always, for better and for worse, let us have the run of the refrigerator and pantry; we could pretty much eat whatever we wanted.  I think I was probably around 9 years old or so, and I had never tasted or really even knew much about buttermilk.  I opened the fridge, and there sat a carton.  I looked at it for several seconds, thinking about that word, buttermilk.  I thought it sounded delicious.  Who wouldn’t want to drink that?  I got a glass out of the cupboard and poured myself a healthy amount.  It looked wonderful.  I raised the glass to my lips and took a generous drink.

You know where this is going by now.  I made it to the sink before aggressively spitting it out.  It was nasty!  So bitter and way too thick on my tongue.  I frantically started guzzling water, trying to get the sour taste out of my mouth and the unpleasant coating off my tongue.  In some ways, that day was a learning experience for me.  I learned that just because something sounds delectable, doesn’t mean it will be so.  But in other ways, that day was not a learning experience.  I decided right then and there that buttermilk was disgusting and served no purpose in life.  I was very wrong.  Buttermilk is a wonderful ingredient, just not to drink!  I use buttermilk all the time in my cooking.  It’s a terrific alternative to an egg wash before frying a piece of chicken or fish.  It works to tenderize the protein and makes the final product really moist.  I also use buttermilk as the base of dressings, particularly Ranch and Blue Cheese.  It’s also a great ingredient in biscuits, pancakes, and waffles.  So you could say that I’ve definitely revised my opinion on buttermilk.

But Buttermilk Ice Cream??  That still gave me pause.  When I ran across this recipe initially, I raised my eyebrows and turned the page.  But I had to admit it was intriguing.  I kept returning to it.  So last week, I had an almost full carton of leftover buttermilk and decided it was time to give this ice cream a try.  It was very simple to make.  I am still not completely certain if I like it or not.  I certainly don’t hate it, seeing as I managed to eat an entire bowl of it.  But the flavor is not one you’d associate with ice cream.  It’s sweet, but a bit sour, too.  The recipe suggested putting a scoop of it atop apple pie, and I can completely see how that would work beautifully.  I didn’t have any apple pie, though, and the ice cream on its own was a little odd to my palate.  But I still wanted to blog it, and I may very well make it again the next time we have apple pie.  If you are brave enough to make it, drop me a comment and let me know what you think.  Enjoy!

Source: Donald Link, “Real Cajun”

Ingredients:
1 quart well-shaken buttermilk
1 pint heavy cream
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 tsp salt

Directions:
Combine the ingredients in a large bowl and chill for 30 minutes. Transfer the mixture to your ice cream maker and follow manufacturer’s instructions. Transfer the ice cream to a container and freeze for a few hours before serving.

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

