Chipotle Chicken Tortilla Soup

Time for another repeat meal post!  I first made this soup several years ago, and we were very impressed with it.  First of all, I love chicken tortilla soup.  I’ve eaten it countless times and I have very high standards for it.  I was actually initially skeptical of this particular recipe for it. The broth for this soup is usually pureed, and this recipe didn’t call for doing that. But, since “Chipotle” was in the title, I was drawn in.

It is really delicious. Maybe not quite traditional, but incredibly flavorful and certainly a nod to the original. I will also add, this version is a bit easier than the original; it’s pretty quick-cooking. I highly recommend! Enjoy!

Source: Rachael Ray, “2,4,6,8: Great Meals for Couple and Crowds”

Ingredients:
3 cups chicken stock
1 lb. chicken tenders
1 fresh bay leaf
1 tbs EVOO
4 slices bacon, chopped
1 onion, finely chopped
4 garlic cloves, finely chopped
2 chipotles in adobo, chopped, plus 2 tbs adobo sauce
1 (28 oz.) can of crushed fire-roasted tomatoes
Salt
3 to 4 cups tortilla chips, lightly crushed
2 cups shredded smoked Cheddar or mozzarella
1 lime, cut into wedges
1/2 red onion, chopped
Chopped fresh cilantro, for garnish

Directions:
Bring the stock to a simmer and add the chicken and bay leaf. Poach chicken for 6-7 minutes, until just cooked through.
Meanwhile, heat the EVOO in a medium soup pot on medium-high heat. Add the bacon and cook until crisp, then remove with a slotted spoon to a paper-towel-lined plate. Drain excess fat, leaving 2 tbs in the pot. Add onions and garlic and cook 5 minutes, then stir in chipotles, adobo sauce, and tomatoes.
Remove chicken from poaching liquid, dice it, then add it to the tomato mixture in the soup pot. Pass the poaching stock through a strainer, then add it to the soup. Season to taste with salt.
Place a pile of crushed tortilla chips in the bottom of four soup bowls. Cover the chips liberally with smoked cheese, then ladle hot soup over the top. Set out the lime wedges, red onions, cilantro, and reserved bacon bits at the table for soup garnishes.

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

