Buffalo Chicken Enchiladas

This is one of my own creations, though I cannot take full credit.  I saw a recipe online for such a thing, got inspired, and decided to take a stab at it.  This actually came out fantastic!  Enchiladas are one of my favorite dishes, I love them any old way, with whatever filling or topping.  My only rule (and this isn’t MY rule at all!) is that you must, must, must use corn tortillas.  Never use a flour tortilla for an enchilada. It’s simply not legit!

I’m not going to lie, enchiladas are a production to make. They’re messy as anything, and it takes awhile to assemble all the components. However, they are totally and completely worth it! These particular enchiladas are fusion food, and that’s probably making them sound a lot more elegant than they are. It’s simply taking one of America’s favorites, the buffalo chicken, and fitting that into a different vehicle than a wing, in this case the beloved Mexican enchilada. It works. They are spicy, of course, but they really don’t blow your head off.

I have one confession. You know I’m not a fan of much canned foods, but I used canned enchilada sauce for this recipe. I tested several different things, and that one was honestly the best! I hope no one respects me less now. 🙂

Here is the recipe, enjoy!

Ingredients:
1 whole chicken breast, on the bone, skin optional
Olive oil
1 medium onion, chopped
2 celery ribs, chopped
3-4 garlic cloves, minced
Salt and pepper
Blue Cheese Dressing/Dip (recipe to follow)
12 Small white corn tortillas
Buffalo sauce, about 10 oz.
Enchilada sauce, 10 oz. can (remove 2 tablespoons before using – you don’t need them)
Shredded jack cheese (8 oz.)
Crumbled blue cheese (2-3 oz.)
2 scallions, thinly sliced on an angle

Directions:
Preheat oven to 425 F. Season chicken with salt and pepper, then drizzle lightly with olive oil IF you remove the skin. Bake in oven until an instant read thermometer reads 165 F. Remove to a plate and let cool until you can handle it. When cooled, discard skin and bone and shred the chicken. Set aside. Bring the oven temperature down to 350 F.
Meanwhile, in a large saute pan, cook the vegetables in the olive oil until softened.  Make sure you lightly salt them. Throw the shredded chicken into the veggies and set aside.
In a large bowl, mix the chicken and veggie mixture with the blue cheese dressing.
In a pie plate, mix together the buffalo sauce with the enchilada sauce.
Grease a large baking dish, the biggest one you have.
Warm the tortillas until they are nice and pliable. I do this over a medium-low flame on my gas stove.
Now comes the really messy part. One at a time, dredge both sides of each tortilla through the buffalo/enchilada sauce. Lay it on a flat surface and fill with roughly 2 tbs of the chicken mixture. Don’t overfill. Place the tortilla seam side down into the baking dish. Repeat 11 more times, until you have 12 enchiladas all lined up snugly next to one another in the baking dish. Pour the remaining buffalo/enchilada sauce over all the enchiladas and smooth out with a spatula. You want everything covered. Now sprinkle the cheeses over the whole thing.
Bake for about 10-15 minutes, until the jack cheese has melted. If you want, broil it for a few minutes to brown and bubble the cheese. Remove, scatter the scallions all over, and let set for about 5 minutes. Serve hot.

BLUE CHEESE DRESSING/DIP:

This is really good! I came up with it awhile back when I was trying to make some recipe that called for store-bought blue cheese dressing. I looked in the grocery store that day but couldn’t find a brand that didn’t contain high fructose corn syrup, so I decided to play around and make my own. This is what I came up with, and we’ve been using it ever since.

Ingredients:
3/4 cup mayonnaise
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 tsp cider vinegar
1 tsp hot sauce
1 tsp lemon pepper
Salt and Pepper
1/4 cup blue cheese crumbles

Directions:
Mix everything together in a bowl. Taste for seasoning. For best results, chill in the refrigerator for a couple of hours.

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

