No Bake, (Almost) Dairy-Free Chocolate Silk Pie

This is another recipe I made several years ago, before my blogging days.  But it’s so good and unique, and we have never stopped talking about it, so it definitely deserves to be blogged.  I love chocolate silk pie, it’s so decadent and rich.  This one cuts calories by using silken tofu (!!!) and there is no baking at all!  You just need a blender.  And never fear, the flavor and richness do not get sacrificed.  I found this one in my book “Food Network All-Stars” and it was submitted by Alton Brown, the mad scientist, evil genius cook with the awesome tweets.

I still remember the first time I made this.  I was incredibly skeptical, as I do not care for tofu at all.  I remember wondering if it would blend thoroughly, if it would retain any tofu taste (such as there is).  I remember being beyond delighted and maybe a little surprised at the spectacular results.  I marveled at the ease of making such an impressive dessert.  I wasn’t the most experienced cook back then, and I simply couldn’t believe it came together so seamlessly.  I raved about it to anyone who asked (and probably a few people who didn’t ask).

A month or so after I made it, Matt and I headed down to Texas to visit my family for Christmas.  I offered to make this pie for everyone, feeling certain they would love it as much as we did.  It actually turned out to be a humbling experience, for that’s when I learned that you MUST use a blender, and only a blender, to make this pie properly.  I hadn’t realized my parents did not own one at that time, and for some dumb reason, hadn’t thought to ask beforehand.  D’oh!  So I tried to make the filling first with a hand mixer, then with an immersion blender.  Neither worked.  The tofu never really blended, and there were white flecks all throughout the chocolate.  The texture was a little chunky and not smooth and rich as it should be.  It was…..okay.  You can probably imagine no one sought seconds.  Lesson was learned!  But when you make the pie with a blender, the way Alton Brown instructs, it is a rich little slice of chocolate heaven.  And the following year, I gave my parents a blender for Christmas.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
1/3 cup coffee liqueur
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 (16 ounce) block of silken tofu
1 tbs honey
1 (9 inch) prepared chocolate wafer crust

Directions:
Place a small to medium heat-proof bowl over a saucepan filled with simmering water. Make sure the water doesn’t touch the bottom of the bowl. Melt the chocolate and liqueur in the bowl. Stir in the vanilla.
Combine the tofu, chocolate mixture, and honey in a blender and puree until smooth.
Pour the filling into the crust and refrigerate for at least 2 hours, or until the filling is set.

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

