Peruvian Grilled Chicken

It seems that Peruvian food has been coming into vogue over the past few years. That is just fine with me, as I would love to learn more about Central and South American food in general. I know a lot about Mexican food, a little bit about Caribbean food, and almost nothing about their neighbors to the south. If this chicken dish is any indication, I’ll be cooking more recipes from Peru! It was quite tasty, and incredibly easy, too. I found it in an old magazine from 2007, actually. Gourmet magazine, which I think is now defunct (but I’m not sure), is a magazine I’ve never subscribed to. But I have picked up a couple of issues. Several years ago they put out an issue that was nothing but Latino recipes!! It covers dishes from Mexico, Dominican Republic, Colombia, Ecuador, Jamaica, El Salvador, Peru, and probably some more I’m forgetting. It’s so cool. And this chicken dish came from that issue. I highly recommend trying it; as you’ll see, the ingredients aren’t exotic and you probably have them lying around already. Enjoy!

Ingredients:
1/3 cup soy sauce
2 tbs fresh lime juice
5 garlic cloves
2 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1 tbs vegetable oil
1 whole chicken, about 3 1/2 lbs., quartered
Lime wedges, for serving

Directions:
In the blender, puree soy sauce, lime juice, garlic, cumin, paprika, oregano, 1/2 tsp black pepper, and oil. Place chicken in a large resealable bag; pour marinade over it. Seal bag and marinate in the fridge for 8 to 24 hours.
Preheat your grill to medium-high heat and oil the grate. Place the chicken on the grill skin side down. Don’t disturb for at least 10 minutes. You want the skin nice and crispy. Turn and cook until a thermometer registers 165 F when inserted in the middle of the thigh not touching bone. This takes around 30 to 35 minutes.
Remove and let rest for 5 minutes on a cutting board before cutting and serving.
Squeeze lime wedges over the chicken if desired.

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

