Chipotle Rosemary-Skewered Shrimp

These shrimp look all innocent but do not let them fool you.  They were SPICY!!  So tasty, but oh so hot and fiery.  Not for the faint of heart.  We both loved them though.  Using rosemary stems as the skewer was a creative touch.  You want really sturdy stems for this.  I found this in a new cookbook, “Fresh Mexico” by break-out Food Network star Marcela Valladolid, host of the weekend morning cooking show “Mexican Made Easy”.  I’ve come to really enjoy her show.  And, since I’m obsessed with Mexican food, I knew I wanted her two books.  This was the first dish I made from “Fresh Mexico” and it makes me really look forward to the rest of the recipes in there.  If you like spicy food, enjoy!

Ingredients:
15 fresh rosemary sprigs
1/4 cup olive oil
1 1/2 tbs fresh lime juice
2 garlic cloves, minced
3 tbs chopped fresh cilantro
2 tsp chipotle chile powder
Salt and black pepper
1 pound raw large shrimp, peeled and deveined
Lime wedges, for serving

Directions:
Remove the leaves from half the length of each rosemary sprig and set the sprigs aside. Chop enough of the leaves to make 1 1/2 teaspoons.
Combine the olive oil, lime juice, garlic, cilantro, chipotle powder, and chopped rosemary in a medium bowl. Season the marinade with salt and pepper to taste. Add the shrimp and toss until coated. Let stand for 5 minutes. Then skewer the shrimp on rosemary sprigs.
Heat your grill to medium-high and oil the grate. Add the skewers and cook 1 to 2 minutes per side, until firm to the touch and opaque. Transfer the skewers to a platter, garnish with lime wedges and serve immediately with lots of cold beer.

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

