Avocado-Tomatillo Salsa

I’ve been cooking a lot longer than I’ve been blogging.  As such, there are some dishes we’ve had in my pre-blogging days that were beyond delicious, that we still talk about, and they absolutely deserve a space on my blog.  So, for the next few months, I’ll blog a “repeat dish” once a week.

My first repeat dish is this salsa.  It comes from Bobby Flay’s “Boy Meets Grill”.  In his book, the salsa is designed to accompany a grilled chicken dish, which is how we initially made it.  However, years later, neither of us remember the chicken, just the salsa.  It’s great with just chips for dipping.  This salsa is incredibly fresh, flavorful and clean tasting.  The only downside is that, because of the avocado, leftovers don’t work.  But the upside is, you probably won’t have any.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:
3 large, Haas avocados, peeled and chopped
1/2 cup finely chopped red onion
3 large tomatillos, husked, washed and chopped
1 jalapeno pepper, stemmed, seeded and diced
3 tbs fresh lime juice
3 tbs finely minced fresh cilantro leaves
Kosher salt and fresh cracked black pepper

Directions:
Combine all ingredients in a large bowl, and gently stir to mix thoroughly. Serve immediately at room temperature.

I fried my own chips for this, but of course store bought tortilla chips are fine. If you want to make your own, simply buy a package of white corn tortillas and cut each into four wedges. Pour some flavorless oil, like canola, into your deep fryer and heat to about 350 F. Fry the chips about a minute a side, maybe 90 seconds. Remove and drain on paper towels. Salt them as you drain them in batches. They are so delicious and worth the extra effort if you have time.

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

