Jalapeno Ranch Dressing

This wonderfully tasty concoction combined and indulged two of my favorite things: jalapenos and homemade Ranch dressing.  (Store-bought Ranch dressing can stay on the shelf).  I found this little gem in “The Homesick Texan Cookbook” and we both thought it was delicious.  It’s simple, not too spicy, and a lovely pale green color.  The night I made this, we tossed it with a simple chicken romaine dinner salad, and I may or may not have dunked carrot sticks into the leftovers as a snack (several afternoons in a row).  Enjoy!

Ingredients:
2 fresh jalapeno chiles, stemmed and seeded, chopped
1 garlic clove
1/4 cup cilantro
1/4 cup fresh flat-leaf parsley
1/4 tsp ground cumin
1/4 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp lemon zest
1/4 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup sour cream
1/2 cup mayonnaise
Salt and black pepper, to taste

Directions:
In a blender, combine the jalapenos, garlic, cilantro, parsley, cumin, paprika, lemon zest, and buttermilk. Blend until it’s a green puree.
Pour the puree into a bowl and gently stir in the sour cream and mayonnaise. Add salt and black pepper to taste.

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

