Banana Bread French Toast

My mom’s recipe for banana bread is awesome and needs no tweaking whatsoever.  I ate it countless times growing up, and I still make it from time to time.  Occasionally, if I’m in the mood, I’ll add walnuts to the batter, but that is the only tiny change I ever make.  A couple months ago, I was thinking I should make it again.  And then I got the idea to take the yummy slices and make French toast out of them.  Would it work?  Yes, it did.  Still moist and flavorful, but now with that lovely custard texture on the outside.  Basically, it was everything you love about banana bread combined with the best part of French toast.  I jazzed it up with some chopped walnuts, sliced banana, powdered sugar and maple syrup.  It made for an amazing brunch, and would make a great dessert if needed, too.  Enjoy!

MOM’S BANANA BREAD

Ingredients:
6 tbs butter, at room temperature
2 really ripe bananas
3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
1/4 cup milk
1 tbs lemon juice
1 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:
Using a handheld mixer, cream together the butter and bananas in a large mixing bowl. Add the sugar, eggs, milk, and lemon juice. Mix until smooth.
In a separate bowl, combine the dry ingredients. Slowly add them to the wet ingredients, mixing after each addition. Stir in the vanilla.
Grease a loaf pan and preheat your oven to 375 F. Bake for about 45 minutes. Test for doneness with a toothpick.

BANANA BREAD FRENCH TOAST

Ingredients:
Mom’s Banana Bread, cooled and sliced
2 eggs
1/2 cup whole milk
A pinch of salt
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2-3 tbs melted butter
1 banana, sliced
1/3 cup chopped walnuts
Maple syrup
Powdered sugar

Directions:
In a baking dish, whisk together the eggs, milk, salt and vanilla. Dip each slice into the custard batter. Let each one sit for about a minute or so; don’t be in a hurry.
Preheat a smooth griddle to medium heat. Brush the surface with the melted butter. Cook each slice of banana bread the same way you would French toast. Place on the griddle, let it set up and brown a little, then carefully flip and let the second side cook. Do this in batches if necessary until all slices are used.
Serve with the sliced bananas, walnuts, and drizzle some maple syrup over. Dust with powdered sugar, if desired, and enjoy!

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

