Pickled Jalapenos

I love jalapenos.  They are by no means exotic, but they are one of my favorite chiles.  In addition to all the typical uses (nachos, tacos, deep-fried, etc.), I love to put sliced raw jalapenos on burgers, sandwiches, and atop chili as a garnish.  I also loved them pickled, and it’s rare to open my fridge and not see a jar of store bought pickled jalapenos, usually Goya brand. But a couple of months ago, I decided to pickle my own jalapenos. I found a recipe from Bobby Flay, in his book “Burgers, Fries and Shakes”.  It looked easy (it was!) and really pickling only requires time and patience. I filled two tall deli containers with sliced jalapenos and we’re still working on them. Flavor-wise, these are different from anything I’ve found in the grocery store, but definitely tasty! Pickling your own jalapenos is ridiculously easy, I highly recommend trying it. Enjoy!

Ingredients:
15 jalapeno chilies, sliced to your desired thickness
2 cups red wine vinegar
2 cups white wine vinegar
2 tbs kosher salt
2 tbs sugar
1/2 tsp coriander seeds
1/2 tsp black peppercorns
1/2 tsp fennel seeds
1/2 tsp mustard seeds
1/2 tsp cumin seeds

Directions:
In a medium saucepan, combine the red and white vinegars, salt, sugar, coriander, peppercorns, fennel, mustard, and cumin seeds. Bring to a boil over high heat. Cook until the sugar and salt dissolve, about 2 minutes. Remove from the heat and let cool to room temperature.
Pour the mixture over the jalapenos. Cover and refrigerate for 1 week, stirring the mixture at least once during this time. Discard liquid and aromatics before serving.

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

