Apple Cider Pancakes

This is a great brunch dish in cold weather. I made it a couple months ago when I had some apple cider in the fridge and we were sick of drinking it, but also didn’t want to throw it out. These pancakes are REALLY good. I’ve had the recipe for a long time, actually. I got it from www.allrecipes.com shortly after Matt and I got married. As I’ve mentioned before, I wasn’t too skilled in the kitchen when we met, and to learn how to cook, I started collecting recipes from this website. It is a great comprehensive site I would recommend, especially for beginner cooks. I don’t rely on it much anymore, but I printed and saved the recipes in my online folder that looked good and I keep them in a big white binder. Occasionally, I’ll pull it out and make one.

These pancakes are tasty, easy, and fluffy with warm flavors. Enjoy!

Ingredients:
2 cups pancake mix
1 1/4 cups apple cider
1 tbs ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground nutmeg
1 tbs brown sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
Cooking spray or melted butter, for greasing your griddle

Directions:
In a large mixing bowl, combine the pancake mix and apple cider. Adjust apple cider to achieve your desired thickness. Stir in spices, sugar, and vanilla.
Heat a griddle over medium heat, and spray with cooking spray. Use about 1/4 cup batter per pancake. Ladle batter onto hot griddle, cook until small bubbles appear on the surface, then flip and cook another minute or so until cooked through. Serve immediately with maple syrup and butter, if desired.

Tip: don’t cut into your pancakes to see if they are completely cooked. Use a toothpick inserted into the center of each cake. If it comes out clean, they are done!

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

