Mom’s Taco Soup

Wow, this is my first blog post since February!!  I don’t think I’ve ever taken that long of a hiatus before.  I’m working on getting a new blog up and running, one with its own domain, a somewhat different scope, and one where I can make money off of ads.  It’s a bit more complicated than I thought, and will take a bit longer to accomplish.  But I’ve really missed blogging, so I decided to keep up this one until I can make the switch.

So without further adieu, let’s get to this post, shall we? I made this awhile back for Matt and me. This is my mom’s taco soup recipe she gave me when I got married. When I was growing up I always loved it when she made this, and now I’ve turned Matt into a convert.

Taco Soup is basically Chili with a broth. The definition of chili is spicy meat sauce. Proper chili does not have a broth of any kind. (It also doesn’t have beans, but that’s for another post.) Taco Soup takes all the elements of chili and makes it into a delicious soup. I make some ever so slight changes to my mom’s recipe (sorry Mom!). This recipe is not terribly spicy, and I think little kids would go nuts for it. I know I always did! Enjoy!

TACO SOUP

Ingredients:
EVOO
2 lbs. ground sirloin
1 medium onion, chopped
3 (15 oz) cans diced tomatoes, undrained
1 (15 oz) can corn, drained
1 (15 oz) can pinto beans, undrained
1 (4 oz) can diced green chilies, undrained
Beef or chicken stock, as needed
1 recipe Ranch Dressing Seasoning
1 recipe Taco/Chili Seasoning
2 tbs chili powder
1 tbs hot sauce, such as Texas Pete
Salt and pepper to taste
Grated Cheddar
Crushed tortilla chips

Directions:
Preheat a Dutch oven or large soup pot over medium-high heat. Drizzle in some EVOO and brown the meat, breaking it up with a potato masher or wooden spoon. When no traces of pink remain, add the onion. Saute until softened. Now add the canned veggies and beans, the spices, hot sauce, and salt and pepper. If it looks too thick, add some stock to make it more like soup. You may not need to do this, though, I usually don’t. Stir to combine, and simmer on medium-low heat for at least one hour. If you can go longer, it will just taste better. Make sure the heat isn’t too high, as you do not want the broth to evaporate. Serve hot in bowls with cheese and chips to garnish.

RANCH DRESSING SEASONING
In a small bowl, combine the following:
1 tbs dried parsley
2 tbs onion powder
1 tsp dried dill
1/2 tsp garlic powder

TACO/CHILI SEASONING
In a small bowl, combine the following:
1 tbs ancho chile powder
2 tbs ground cumin
1/2 tbs sweet paprika
1 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp ground coriander

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

