Southwest Black Bean Burgers

This meal was a huge first for me.  It is the first time I have EVER eaten, let alone cooked, a vegetarian burger.  When I was growing up, burger = beef.  I would have balked at a turkey burger, even.  Fortunately, over the past several years, I have expanded my mind and palate to accept and thoroughly enjoy not only turkey burgers, but also chicken, pork and seafood burgers.  But I never ventured into the vegetarian realm until a couple weeks ago.  I really did enjoy this burger, as did Matt!  I’ll definitely be making more veggie/bean burgers.  I found it in one of my newest books, “Cook Without A Book: Meatless Meals” by Pam Anderson.  Meaning the USA Today columnist and cookbook author, not the former “Baywatch” star.  I wonder if Ms. Anderson the cookbook author really hates her name.  Reminds me of one of my old bosses named Lisa Simpson.

Anyways… here is the recipe! Simple to put together, and nothing to be scared of. Even if you’re initially skeptical, or thinking “my spouse/child/friend/whomever would NEVER touch that with a ten foot pole”, give them a try. You might just be pleasantly surprised!

Ingredients:
2 (15 oz.) cans of black beans
1 cup dried breadcrumbs
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 tsp black pepper
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 cup salsa
1 tsp ground cumin
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
Olive oil
4-6 hamburger buns, toasted

2 Hass avocados, pitted and sliced
1/4 cup sour cream
1/4 cup salsa
Lettuce

Directions:
Drain 1 can of beans, reserving the liquid, and mash the beans in a large mixing bowl. Drain the second can, add the bowl with the mashed beans. Now add the breadcrumbs, eggs, black pepper, salt, garlic powder, salsa, cumin, and cilantro. If it seems dry, add in reserved bean liquid a little at a time. I didn’t have to do this. Form 4-6 round patties of equal size. It is imperative that you keep your hands moistened to do this.
Drizzle some olive oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add the patties and cook, turning only once, until a crisp, brown crust forms on each side, about 6 minutes total.
Meanwhile, mix together the quarter cup each of sour cream and salsa.
Build your burgers. Place some lettuce on the bottom bun. Top with a burger, then some avocado slices. Spread the sour cream/salsa mixture on the top bun. Place the top bun on the burger and enjoy!

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

