Chipotle Marinade

This marinade is awesome.  I used it for boneless, skinless chicken thighs, and everyone who tried it loved it.  I’m sure it would also work beautifully for chicken breasts, drumsticks, or pork tenderloin.  I think pork chops would be great with it too.  It smelled amazing while cooking!  The picture isn’t great, so my apologies.  I put the chicken thighs over rice with salsa and guacamole, like a Chipotle restaurant burrito bowl (which is what I usually order when I eat there).  Enjoy!

Ingredients:
1 dried ancho chile
1 dried chipotle chile
Leaves from 2-3 sprigs of oregano
4 garlic cloves, peeled and cut into chunks
1 tbs ground cumin
Stems from 1 bunch of cilantro (make a salsa with the leaves!)
Olive oil

Directions:
Place the dried chiles in a small stockpot. Cover with water. They will float, use tongs to poke them down. Place on the stove and turn on the heat to high. When it comes to a boil, shut off the heat and let stand for 30 minutes.
When they are softened and cool enough to touch, remove the stems and seeds. Tear in large pieces and place in the blender with about 1/2 to 3/4 cups on their soaking liquid. Add the oregano, garlic, cumin and cilantro stems to the blender. Puree until smooth. Pour into a large bowl. Stream in olive oil, whisking like you would salad dressing. You’ll use about a quarter cup of olive oil, maybe a little more. Lightly salt and pepper the marinade. Add your protein of choice and let it go at least 2 hours and up to overnight.

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

