Blue Corn Biscotti

I was in the mood to bake something last weekend, and I had some blue cornmeal that needed using up, so this dish fit the bill perfectly.  I only ate one.  Then I sent the rest to Matt’s co-workers, who absolutely loved it!  These were sweet but not too sweet, with a lovely nutty flavor.  This is the first time I’ve ever made biscotti, and it worked really well.  The cookie dough is a bit crumbly when you first shape the loaf for the first baking.  I was worried it wouldn’t come together, but I needn’t have feared anything.  It worked perfectly.  I found the recipe in Bobby Flay’s “Mesa Grill Cookbook”, which probably comes as no surprise, given his love of blue cornmeal.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:
2 1/2 cups flour
1 1/4 cups sugar
2 tbs yellow cornmeal
1/4 cup plus 2 tbs blue cornmeal
1 1/s tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cups chopped pistachios (pecans can be subbed in)
1 stick unsalted butter, at room temperature
2 large eggs
2 tbs anisette or Sambuca

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 375 F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
Put the flour, sugar, cornmeals, salt, and nuts in the bowl of an electric mixer. Stir together with a fork. Fit the mixer with its paddle attachment, and on slow speed, beat in the butter bit by bit until it’s incorporated. I had to use my hands for this, like you’re making biscuit dough. Now add the eggs and liqueur, and beat slowly until blended.
Transfer the dough to the parchment paper lined baking sheet. Dip your hands in flour and shape it into a log 3 inches wide, 12 inches long, and 1 inch high. Bake 30 minutes, it will be lightly browned. Remove from the oven and let cool on the baking sheet for 20 minutes.
Reduce oven temperature to 350 F.
Transfer the dough log to a cutting board. Use a serrated knife to cut the log into 1/2 inch slices. Lay them cut side up on the baking sheet. Bake 10 to 12 minutes. Let cool on the baking sheet for a good 20 minutes before eating, otherwise they’ll just crumble apart.

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

