Seared Tuna Salad with Blueberries and Snap Peas

This recipe came from one of my newest books, “Girl in the Kitchen” by Stephanie Izard, the Chicago based chef who won Season 4 of Bravo’s “Top Chef”.  I was a fan of hers on Top Chef, so I was eager to see her contribution to the world of cookbooks.  Not too shabby! 🙂  This is a great book.  The recipes are interesting flavor combinations and not terribly difficult to make.  This salad is the first dish I’ve tried from this book and I admit I was a little skeptical of this combination of ingredients.  But, it was DELICIOUS!!!  We both loved it.  It’s really elegant too.  I’m definitely serving it as a first course at a dinner party at some point in the near future.  Even if you think it sounds odd, try it.  You’ll love it!  Enjoy!

Ingredients:
Dressing:
3 tbs rice vinegar
2 tbs EVOO
1 tbs minced shallot
1/2 a lemon, zested
1 tsp Dijon mustard
1 tsp honey
1/4 tsp Sriracha
Salt and black pepper
Salad:
1 lb. fresh tuna1
1 tbs canola oil
Salt and black pepper
8 oz. sugar snap peas, cut on a bias into thin strips
1 cup shaved radish
1 cup fresh blueberries
2/3 cup julienned basil
1/4 cup toasted pine nuts (optional; I left them out)

Directions:
Dressing:
In a small bowl, whisk together the ingredients until emulsified. Add salt and pepper to taste. Set aside.
Salad:
Season the tuna with salt and pepper. Heat the canola oil in a nonstick skillet over high heat. Sear the tuna on both sides until nicely browned, but still rare in the middle. Remove the tuna to a cutting board. Let rest a minute or two, then thinly slice it.
In a medium bowl, carefully toss the peas, radish, blueberries, basil, and pine nuts with the dressing. Distribute the salad among the plates and top with the seared tuna slices to serve.

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

