Mexican Pizza

This was absurdly delicious!  I made it a few weeks ago and we both loved it.  I found it in Sandra Lee’s “Semi-Homemade Cooking 2” and I did make a few changes.  She calls for using a bag of pre-shredded Mexican cheese blend, but I grated my own pepper jack cheese.  I have limited tolerance for pre-shredded cheese as the cheese is covered with flour.  She also calls for drizzling ranch dressing on top of the pizza, but I opted for using a combination of salsa and sour cream instead.  That seemed more authentic.  And by the way, if you’ve never tried that, do so soon, it is so good!  So easy to prepare, just mix together equal parts salsa and sour cream and you have a wonderful dip for veggies or tortilla chips. The final change I made is using a fresh pizza dough instead of the premade grocery store crust she calls for.

Ingredients:
1 ball of pizza dough
1 lb. fresh Mexican chorizo, casings removed
1/2 cup salsa, your favorite brand
1 (16 oz.) can refried black beans
8 oz. shredded cheese (I used pepper jack, but use whatever you want)
Plum tomato, seeded and chopped
A handful of tortilla chips, lightly crushed
Salsa/sour cream mixture mentioned above

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 F. Roll out the pizza dough into a circle or rectangle on a floured surface. Transfer the dough to a baking sheet and poke holes all over it with the tines of a fork. Bake in the oven for 10 minutes. Remove and set aside.
Meanwhile, brown the chorizo in a large skillet on medium heat. When no traces of pink remain, stir in the salsa, and simmer on low for 5 minutes.
Take the parbaked pizza crust and spread the beans over it in an even layer. Spread the chorizo mixture over the beans, and top it with cheese.
Bake 10 to 12 minutes until the cheese is melted nicely. Remove from the oven and sprinkle with the tomato slices, tortilla chips, and dollops of the salsa/sour cream mixture. Let rest about 10 minutes, then slice into wedges and serve. Enjoy!

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

