My Grandmother Rose’s Pecan Pie

I plan on making a pecan pie for Thanksgiving this year, and I realized that I’ve never made one before, so I did a “practice pie” last night.  We LOVED it!  I used my mom’s mother’s recipe that she gave me, and I tweaked it just a tad.  One time at a nice restaurant, Matt and I had bourbon pecan pie, which was to die for, so I wondered if I could add a little bourbon to this tried and true recipe.  Well, I did, and it was wonderful.  Hopefully Rose wouldn’t mind. 🙂

Ingredients:
1 9″ pie crust, fitted in a 9″ pie plate
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup light corn syrup
3 eggs
1 tbs flour
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbs melted butter
1 1/2 tbs bourbon
3/4 cup pecans, maybe more

Directions:
Preheat your oven to 375 F.
Whisk together the sugar, corn syrup, eggs, flour, a pinch of salt, and vanilla. Add butter and bourbon and stir to combine. Pour into the pie shell. Sprinkle the pecans all over the top – don’t be stingy. Bake for 5 minutes at 375 F, then lower the heat to 325 F and bake for 40 minutes or until set. No need to remove the pie from the oven while you’re changing the heat level. Remove from the oven and let cool to room temperature. Serve with sweetened whipped cream or vanilla ice cream. Enjoy!

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

