Tex-Mex Game Day Salsa and Queso

I found both these recipes in “The Homesick Texan Cookbook.”  This book makes me so happy!!  They were both spot on and delicious.  I made these, along with my guacamole, and some homemade fried chips for the Baylor-A&M game, which was actually airing where I live!!!  Do you know how rare it is that I get a Baylor game on TV in New York City?  But, I got one, and I had to make some yummy snacks for the occasion.  Too bad the Bears lost…

Anyways…  these recipes are awesome.  They are so authentic and taste amazing!  In Texas, queso is traditionally made with Velveeta.  Just chunk up some Velveeta, combine it with either store-bought salsa or RoTel tomatoes, and let it go in the slow cooker until melted and gooey.  It’s greatness.  Until you think about the fact that Velveeta really isn’t cheese, that is.  Lisa Fain wanted to see if she could make authentic tasting queso with real cheese.  I’m here to tell you, she succeeded!  It’s addicting.

The salsa was among the best I’ve ever tasted.  I liked her recipe better than my own, even.  It was so amazing.  And yes, she calls it “hot sauce” like a true Texan over a certain age. 🙂  Enjoy!

HOT SAUCE, AKA TEXAS SALSA

Ingredients:
1 (28 oz.) can of crushed tomatoes
1 medium yellow onion, roughly chopped
2 garlic cloves
1/2 cup cilantro
1 tbs chili powder
1/2 tbs ground cumin
1/4 to 1/2 cup pickled jalapeno slices
2 tbs lemon juice
Salt, to taste

Directions:
Combine all ingredients in a blender and puree until smooth. Adjust the seasoning to taste. Serve immediately or it will keep in the refrigerator for a week.

CHILE CON QUESO

Ingredients:
2 tbs unsalted butter
1/2 medium yellow onion, diced
2 serrano chiles, seeded and diced
1 jalapeno chile, seeded and diced
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 tbs all purpose flour
1 cup whole milk
1/2 cup chopped cilantro
1 can RoTel tomatoes
3 cups (12 oz.) grated cheddar cheese
3 cups (12 oz.) grated Monterey Jack cheese
1/2 cup sour cream
Salt, to taste

Directions:
Melt the butter in a medium saucepan on medium-low heat. Add the onions, serrano chiles, and jalapeno and cook until the onions are translucent. Add the garlic and cook another 30 seconds. Whisk the flour into the pan and cook about a minute.
Pour the milk into the pan and, while whisking, cook until the sauce is thick, about 3 minutes. Stir in the cilantro and tomatoes.
Turn the heat to low, and 1/4 cup at a time, slowly stir in the grated cheeses until it’s completely melted. Repeat until all the cheese is melted in. Stir in the sour cream and add salt to taste. Serve with tortilla chips.

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

