Teriyaki Beer Skirt Steak Sliders

This meal was had several weeks ago, but I still think about it.  They were amazing, easy, and inexpensive to make.  Skirt steak is so delicious and almost buttery in texture, and the marinade was rich and tangy.  And of course, sliders are just so much fun to eat!  We really loved this one. I found it in Sandra Lee’s “Semi-Homemade Grilling.” I made one change: she calls for a black pepper marinade. I do not like those spice packets, they are mostly sodium, so I just used grill seasoning with some extra grinds of black pepper for good measure.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:
1 1/2 lbs. skirt steak
1/2 cup beer
1/4 cup teriyaki sauce
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
3 tbs grill seasoning, divided
Red bell pepper, sliced
Orange (or green) bell pepper, sliced
1 large white onion, sliced
3 tbs EVOO
2 tbs balsamic vinegar
Slider rolls, split and toasted

Directions:
In a plastic baggie, combine steak, beer, teriyaki sauce, brown sugar, and 2 tbs grill seasoning, plus some extra salt and black pepper, if needed. Squeeze the air out of the bag, seal, and massage to make sure the meat the evenly coated. Refrigerate for 1 to 3 hours.
In another plastic baggie, combine peppers, onions, EVOO, vinegar, 1 tbs grill seasoning, and some extra salt and black pepper if needed. Squeeze the air out of the bag, seal, and massage to evenly coat the veggies. Refrigerate for 1 to 3 hours alongside the meat.
Preheat grill to medium-high heat and oil the grate.
Remove veggies and steak from their marinades; discard marinades. Grill vegetables for about 10 minutes, until tender. (I did this on my indoor grill because I feared the thin slices would fall through the grates. We grilled the steak on the outdoor grill). Grill steak about 5 minutes per side for medium rare in the thickest part. Remove the steak, let it rest for 5 minutes, then thinly slice against the grain.
To serve, fill the rolls with sliced steak and veggies. Enjoy!

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

