Moroccan Butternut Squash Soup

I am so excited that cooler weather has arrived, because that means I can now make soups!!  This one I found in the most recent issue of Food & Wine Magazine, and it was delicious.  I love, love, love butternut squash soup, and I’ve made it a bunch of different ways.  This recipe is a unique twist on this popular soup, I highly recommend trying it!

Ingredients:
1 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp ground turmeric
1 tsp ground white pepper
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground cayenne
1/4 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
1 medium onion, chopped
Olive oil
Kosher salt
2 lbs. butternut squash, peeled, seeded and cut into cubes
2 tbs tomato paste
4 cups vegetable stock
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/4 lb. goat cheese, crumbled
Harissa, to taste
Black pepper

Directions:
Combine the first 6 ingredients in a small bowl to make a spice rub. In a large soup pot, preheat to medium heat and drizzle in some olive oil. Saute the onion until softened. Add the salt, then the squash. Add 2 cups of the veggie stock, cover, and simmer on medium-low for about 15 minutes. Add the tomato paste, 1-2 tsp of the spice blend, and the remaining two cups stock. Bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to simmer and let it go for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the squash is tender. Once you can stick a paring knife in a chunk of squash without any resistance, you know it’s done.
Add 3/4 of the goat cheese, the cream, and 1 tsp harissa. Using your immersion blender, puree the soup. Adjust seasonings if needed. Ladle into bowls and serve with the extra goat cheese. The recipe also says to add more harissa as a garnish, but it really doesn’t need it.

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

