Fiery Gazpacho and Spicy Shrimp

I misplaced my camera cord a couple weeks ago, so I have much blogging to catch up on.  This meal was delicious, but really hot.  Not for the faint of heart or stomach.  I found it in Rachael Ray’s “30 Minute Get-Togethers.” The shrimp would be fantastic to set out at a cocktail party, I think. I like to dip my shrimp in the gazpacho. Also, if you want the gazpacho to be a little less hot, add some stale or toasted bread in the blender with all the other ingredients. I sort of wish I had done that. Oh well, enjoy!

GAZPACHO:
Ingredients:
2 cans (28 oz.) diced tomatoes
1/4 cup hot sauce, such as Texas Pete’s
1/2 seedless English cucumber, cut into chunks
1 small red onion, cut into chunks
2 seeded jalapenos, chopped
2 stalks celery, cut into chunks
A handful of fresh cilantro leaves
Juice of 1 lemon or lime
Salt and pepper, to taste
Wedges of lemon or lime, for garnish

Directions:
Working in batches if necessary, combine all ingredients in a blender and pulse-grind into a thick soup. Adjust seasonings. Chill until ready to serve.

SPICY SHRIMP:
Ingredients:
Juice of 1 lime
1/4 cup hot sauce, such as Texas Pete’s
1 tbs ground cumin
1/2 tsp crushed chile flakes
1 tbs Old Bay seasoning

4 cloves garlic, minced
2 shallots, chopped
1 tbs Olive oil
2 tbs butter, cut into pieces
2 lbs. jumbo shrimp, peeled and deveined
Fresh snipped chives, for garnish

Directions:
Preheat a large, nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Make the seasoning: combine lime juice, hot sauce, cumin, chile flakes, and Old Bay.
Quickly saute the garlic and shallots in the olive oil and butter for 1 minute, then add the shrimp and cook for 3 minutes. Toss and stir frequently. They are done when they’re pink and firm.
Dump the cooked shrimp into the seasoning blend and toss to coat evenly. Garnish with chives.

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

