Seared Tuna with White Beans and Spinach

This was really good and healthy, and it’s a super quick weeknight dinner after a long day.  I made it up based on having tasted an appetizer at a nice French restaurant one time that was seared tuna pieces with baby spinach and a white bean puree.  I thought I could maybe make that into a main dish dinner, and it turned out great!  If you like your tuna to be more cooked through, by all means do so.  I must have mine rare, like sushi, so that’s how I cooked it.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:
2 Tuna steaks
Salt and pepper
Olive oil
1 (15 oz.) can cannellini beans, drained
A few handfuls of baby spinach, coarsely chopped
1 tsp fresh thyme
1 tsp sage, minced
2 garlic cloves minced
Juice of half a lemon
Olive oil

Directions:
Season the tuna steaks with salt and pepper. Get a skillet preheated over high heat and drizzle with olive oil. When the skillet is very hot, cook the tuna 1 minute per side for rare. Remove to a cutting board and let rest while you prepare the spinach and beans.
Heat a small saucepot over medium-low heat. Pour in the beans. Mix in the spinach, thyme, sage, garlic, lemon juice and a few drizzles of olive oil. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Let it go for about 5 minutes to heat up the garlic and wilt the spinach.
When ready to serve, thinly slice the tuna against the grain. Place a mound of beans on the plate. Fan tuna slices around it.

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

