Turkish Turkey Burgers

I really love burgers.  Turkey, beef, chicken, lamb, seafood, whatever, I love them all.  This was a really flavorful and extremely health conscious burger that we made a few weeks ago.  I made a homemade spice rub that was crusted on each side of the burger, then grilled.  Then I made some sambal ketchup for a condiment, and it was excellent. I found the recipe for the Turkish spice rub in “Eat This Book” by Tyler Florence.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:
1 lb. ground turkey
4 brioche buns, split and toasted
Boston leaf lettuce
1 Tomato, sliced
3/4 cup ketchup
1 tbs sambal, or less if you prefer
Turkish Spice Rub (recipe follows)

TURKISH SPICE RUB:
Ingredients:
3 tbs allspice berries
2 tsp whole black peppercorns
2 tsp fennel seeds
2 tsp cumin seeds
2 tsp coriander seeds
1-inch piece of cinnamon stick
1 tsp whole cloves
Directions:
Combine all spices in a dry skillet over low heat and toast for about 1 minute, or until you can smell the spices. Shake the pan while heating to avoid scorching the spices. Let them cool. Transfer to a spice mill or clean coffee grinder and grind to a fine powder. This makes 1/2 cup total (I think I halved the recipe).

Directions:
Form the ground turkey into four equal sized patties. With your index finger, press an indentation on each burger. Sprinkle with salt on both sides, then sprinkle with the spice mix on both sides. Press in gently. Brush the burgers with olive oil. Preheat a grill or grill pan to medium-high. Grill burgers five minutes per side or until just cooked through.
Mix the ketchup and sambal together.
To assemble the burgers, spread some ketchup on the bottom bun. Top with lettuce, then a turkey burger, and then tomato slices. Top with the top bun and serve immediately. Makes four burgers.

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

