A Different Blackened Salmon

You know how much I love my own blackened salmon, it’s one of my favorite meals that I make.  But, I decided to see how it stacked up against Guy Fieri’s.  I got his newest book, “Guy Fieri Food” and made his version of this great dish.  Turns out, his and mine are apples and oranges.  Mine is very Cajun in spirit; his is more Japanese.  This was a good dish, I would recommend it.  He pairs it with a cellophane noodle salad, which I just wasn’t feeling when I made this, so I paired it with a spinach mango and grape salad.  Couldn’t be easier, and it was delicious – just mix baby spinach leaves, a diced mango, and some green grapes, halved, in a bowl; dress simply with lemon juice, olive oil, salt and pepper.

Ingredients:
4 tsp chili powder
2 tsp wasabi powder
2 tsp ground ginger
2 tbs black sesame seeds
2 tbs white sesame seeds
1 tsp kosher salt
2 tbs fresh lime juice
2 tbs Sambal olek
4 center cut salmon fillets
2 tbs olive oil

Directions:
In a small bowl, mix chili powder, wasabi powder, ginger, sesame seeds, and salt.
In a shallow bowl, combine the lime juice and Sambal. Brush the mixture over the salmon fillets. Then coat them with the spice mixture.
In a heavy skillet over medium heat, heat the oil. Add the salmon, and cook for 3-4 minutes, then flip and cook for 2-3 minutes more for medium-rare.
Serve with the salad/side dish of your choice. Enjoy!

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

