Spinach Crepes with Goat Cheese

This was brunch last Sunday morning, and it was soooo good.  I first had crepes in Paris a couple years ago, and learned how to make them at home after that trip.  I hadn’t made them in forever, and when we were in Los Angeles a couple weekends ago, we found a crepe place by our hotel and stopped in for breakfast one morning.  I was reminded of how much I love crepes and how delicious they are.  At that restaurant, I had a plain crepe with Swiss cheese, egg and spinach.  These that I made last Sunday are from a magazine I picked up in the airport a couple months ago; Fine Cooking, which you know I adore, put out an issue of just brunch and breakfast dishes.  Too tempting to pass up.  These were savory and so yummy!  Enjoy!

Ingredients:
1 3/4 cups milk (I highly recommend whole milk)
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3 large eggs
1/2 cup minced baby spinach
1/4 cup minced scallions
Kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper
2 to 3 tbs unsalted butter
Fresh goat cheese, softened

Directions:
Pour the milk into a large mixing bowl and then whisk in the flour, a little bit at a time, until the mixture is smooth. Beat in the eggs, the greens, scallions, and salt and pepper. The batter should be about the consistency of heavy cream, add more milk if it’s too thick.
In a small skillet or griddle, heat about 1 tsp butter over medium-high heat. I find it much easier to just melt the butter in a dish and use a heat-proof pastry brush to brush the butter over the skillet between making each crepe. When the pan is hot, pour crepes how big or small you like them. If you’re a newbie, I’d start small. Cook one side until you see bubbles forming and the edges look done, about 1 minute. Flip and cook the other side, about a minute or two. Arrange crepes on a plate and keep warm under foil as you cook the rest.
Serve slightly warm or at room temperature. Spread goat cheese on each crepe and either fold or roll up and eat.

Note: you can try flipping these like the chefs do, which I have tried. It works sometimes. I think it takes a ton of practice. I use a spatula to flip them and rarely have a problem.

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

