Valentine’s Day, Tamales, and Bananas

I’m a bit behind on blogging some of the delicious food we’ve had lately, so I’m going to do a “Week of Meals” post to catch up.  Although this is more accurately spaced over the past couple months.

First up we had some very tasty Chicken Enchiladas. These came from an old Rachael Ray magazine, and it called for a homemade enchilada sauce. I was very impressed with it, it was Tex-Mex restaurant quality. Leave me a comment if you want the recipe for that and I’ll send it to you or post it. These enchiladas also called for muenster cheese, which to my knowledge I’d never had before. Call me a fan!

Here is the meal Matt made me for Valentine’s Day! I had to go to Houston for work the weekend before, so on Monday the 14th, he took care of dinner. It was delicious!! He made NY strip steaks in the cast-iron skillet with a wonderful herb butter, plus asparagus, and an amazing Creme Brulee for dessert. He’s so sweet!

For the first time ever, I made tamales! I’ve eaten my fair share of tamales since I grew up in Texas, but I’ve never made them. They are kind of a pain to make, but they really worked, which was exciting. I found a recipe in Bobby Flay’s “Bobby Flay Cooks American” and the filling was kidney beans and bacon.

German Beer Cheese Fondue! I bought a fondue pot on ebay, so I had to try it out. It worked nicely, and the fondue was yummy. I found the recipe in Rachael Ray’s “Get Real Meals.” For dippers we used sauteed asparagus and lil’ smokies.

For some reason I was on a banana kick a few weeks ago, so the next three dishes involve bananas somehow. Don’t ask why, I don’t know.
First up is a brunch of Banana and Candied Ginger Scones. One of the best brunches ever. They were so delicious. I found it in Fine Cooking magazine. So yummy.

Next I made Chocolate Banana Bread. This came from “Tyler’s Ultimate”. Matt’s coworkers enjoyed it immensely.

Lastly, I made a classic Banana Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting. This came from Ina Garten’s “How Easy is That?” and it was amazing. So moist and flavorful.

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

