Chicken for the Bold

This is another one of my few repeat meals.  It’s so delicious that I make it about once a year.  It comes from “Tangy, Tart, Hot and Sweet” by Padma Lakshmi.  It’s pretty hot, but not the hottest chicken wing I’ve ever had.  That being said, you do need some spice and heat tolerance to enjoy this one.  Try it if you’re bold! 🙂

Ingredients:
EVOO
4 pounds chicken wings and drumsticks (this time I just used wings)
2 cups Chipotle and Date Chutney (recipe to follow)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 450 F.
In a large, deep, oven-proof skillet, heat a drizzle of olive oil and lightly brown the chicken on medium heat.
Add the chutney and cook the chicken for about 10 minutes, turning and basting occasionally. The chicken should be well coated with the sauce by now.
Once the chicken is cooked through, place it in the oven for 5 to 7 minutes to char the skin a bit and give each piece a baked-on sticky, slightly crispy exterior. Serve hot with lots of napkins!

CHIPOTLE AND DATE CHUTNEY

Ingredients:
10 fresh or dried dates, pitted and cut into chunks
4 plum tomatoes, seeded, with the juice squeezed from them
13 oz canned chipotle in adobo
2 cloves of garlic, cracked from the skins
1/3 cup honey
1 tsp kosher salt

Directions:
In a blender, combine all the ingredients and blend until they make a thick paste. Pour into a deep saucepan, and cook over medium-low heat for about 5 minutes, adding 1/4 cup water halfway through and stirring. Cool, then store in an airtight container in the refrigerator.
*I skipped the cooking step this past time I made it, and nothing was any worse for it. Just FYI.

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

