My Meatball Subs

Everyone loves meatballs, despite the fact that about 60% of the time, they’re not any good.  Why is that?  I don’t know, but it seems to be true.  Meatballs generally tend to be dry and/or flavorless.  But good ones are truly akin to a religious experience.  I’ve been working on making the perfect meatball recipe for several years, and I think I’ve finally got it.  Try it, let me know what you think.  🙂

Ingredients:
EVOO
Salt and pepper
1 onion, finely chopped
6 garlic cloves, 4 minced, 2 pressed
1 (28 ounce) can of crushed tomatoes
2 tsp dried oregano, divided
2 tsp crushed red chile flakes, divided
1 package of ground sirloin, about 1 pound (don’t use chuck!!)
2 tbs minced fresh parsley, divided
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups breadcrumbs
1 1/2 tbs Worcestershire sauce
1 1/2 tsp hot sauce
2 tbs grated Parmesan cheese
8 slices Provolone cheese
4 hoagie rolls
Optional: baby spinach, chopped pepperoncini or other Italian pickled pepper

Directions:
Preheat a medium saucepan to medium-high heat. Drizzle with EVOO. Saute the onion, minced garlic, half of the oregano, and half of the crushed pepper until the onion has softened. Season with salt and pepper. Add the tomatoes and half of the parsley. Let simmer.
In a large bowl, mix together the pressed garlic, remaining oregano and crushed pepper, the remaining parsley, sirloin, eggs, breadcrumbs, Worcestershire sauce, hot sauce, parmesan, and season with salt and pepper. Mix until you have a uniform mixture, but be careful not to overmix. Form golf-ball sized meatballs and place on a plate. You’ll have about 18 to 20 with about 1 pound of sirloin.
In a large skillet, preferably nonstick, preheat to medium-high heat and drizzle in some EVOO. When hot, sear the meatballs on all sides (this usually involves turning them one to two times). You want them nicely browned. When browned, add the tomato sauce to the meatballs. Gently stir, taking care not to break up the meatballs. Simmer on medium heat until the meatballs are just cooked through. Test one with a meat thermometer or cut into one to make sure. This takes around ten minutes, but watch it so they don’t overcook.
Toast the hoagie rolls. Turn off the heat on the meatballs. Preheat your broiler. Add 4 meatballs, plus some sauce, to each hoagie roll. Cover with 2 slices of Provolone per sandwich. Sprinkle with oregano and black pepper, if desired. Place under broiler until the cheese melts and bubbles a little. Serve with spinach and/or chopped pepperoncini, if desired. I guess adding spinach made me feel a little better about eating meatballs subs. Enjoy!!

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Meatball Subs

  1. Mommypotamus says:

    I just drooled all over my keyboard. Meatballs . . . hoagies . . . I can’t remember the last time I had a hoagie, but now I MUST HAVE one.

  2. jwall915 says:

    Thanks! You should definitely have a hoagie soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

