Cajun Salmon Salad

This was a really tasty dinner.  I love dinner salads, and I intend to make them more often in the future.  Since I only cook for two, it’s hard to make dinner salads; most recipes out there call for 4 servings, and halving the recipe means I’ll have a bunch of greens sitting around.  But I’m working on it!  Like I said, this was delicious.  It came from Sandra Lee’s “Cooking Made Light”.  I changed it a little to make it fresher.  I roasted my own red bell pepper instead of using the jarred kind.  And she called for an ingredient I thought was rather strange: cooked brown rice.  In a salad?  Really?  I think I get what she was going for – it’s a Cajun salad, and red beans and rice is a classic Cajun dish, so she includes kidney beans and rice in there.  But I just couldn’t do the math on that one, so I did include the kidney beans, but left off the rice.  Quite good, enjoy!

Ingredients:
1 pound salmon fillet
1 tbs EVOO
2 tbs Cajun seasoning (I added some Old Bay to it)
1/2 cup Thousand Island salad dressing (you could always make your own, but I was lazy and used a bottle)
1 tsp hot sauce
1/4 tsp Cajun seasoning
4 cups chopped Romaine lettuce (she calls for Romaine, but I used green leaf lettuce since I had some lying around)
1 cup kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1 red bell pepper, roasted, peeled, seeded and chopped

Directions:
Set up indoor grill for cooking over medium-high heat. Brush both sides of fish with EVOO and season with the 2 tbs Cajun seasoning. I also added salt and black pepper. Cook fish about 4 minutes per side for medium rare. Don’t overcook. Set aside.
For the dressing, in a small bowl combine salad dressing, hot sauce, and the 1/4 tsp Cajun seasoning. Taste for seasoning, and add more spices if you like it hotter.
In a salad bowl, combine the lettuce, kidney beans, and bell pepper. Toss with the dressing. Flake the fish apart with a fork. Add it to the salad. Serve and enjoy!

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

