Chicken Goat Cheese Mac-n-Cheese

I’m finally getting around to completing my third installment of Arbitrary Project Mac-n-Cheese.  This is one I made several weeks ago.  The next installment is a guest post I’m very excited about, and I will conclude with a unique restaurant review.  This was quite an unusual mac-n-cheese dish.  It comes from “Live to Cook” by Michael Symon.  It was rich and very good.  After viewing the pictures I took of it, I realized I should have sprinkled some chopped fresh parsley or something similar on top, just to make it look prettier; it looks a little bland, but the flavors definitely were not.  This was pretty good, and very easy to pull off.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:
Kosher salt
1 pound dried rigatoni pasta
1 quart heavy cream
2 tbs chopped fresh rosemary
8 ounces fresh goat cheese
2 cups shredded roast chicken, bones and skin discarded (I just picked up a rotisserie chicken from my grocery store’s deli)

Directions:
Bring a large pot of water to a boil, and salt it generously. Add the pasta and cook till al dente.
Meanwhile, put the cream, rosemary, and 1/2 tsp salt in a large saucepan over high heat. Bring just to a simmer, then lower the heat to medium and simmer to reduce the mixture by half.
Add the goat cheese and chicken to the cream and bring the mixture back to a simmer. Continue cooking until it coats the back of a spoon, about 30 minutes.
Drain the pasta and add it to the sauce. Toss to combine. Serve hot.

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Arbitrary Project, Cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

