Restaurant Review: Butter

Apologies for abandoning my blog for a few weeks.  I am back with a restaurant review!

Matt and I dined at Butter on Christmas Eve, and it was a wonderful, fabulous time.  Butter is in the Village in Manhattan, and I know of no other locations.  The executive chef is Alexandra Guarnaschelli of Food Network fame.  I also discovered that a former Top Chef contestant, Ashley from the Las Vegas season, is cooking there.  This is high-end American cuisine.  I warn you, it is not an inexpensive night out, but we thought it was well worth it.

We had a terrific experience in all respects.  The restaurant is tastefully and subtly decorated.  Service was prompt and generous.  Seeing as we were there on Christmas Eve, things were fairly quiet, all things considered.  And now for the FOOD!!

For an appetizer, we had grilled octopus.  It was magical.  Simply the best octopus I’ve ever had.  But before that, they brought us an amouse bouche of a chicken liver pate on toast.  It was really tasty!  For the dinner entrees, I ordered a mussel and trout dish, which was a huge portion and really well-executed.  Matt ordered lamb chops with some eggplant and an anchovy sauce.  Very delicious!  We split a side dish, that was my favorite part of the entree: potatoes fried in duck fat!!!  I’m definitely trying that one at home. 🙂  Last but not least, we did split a dessert.  We had raspberry beignets, and they were out of this world.  They were dusted with powdered sugar and came with a rich vanilla sauce for dipping.  A wonderful way to end the meal.  And, as a bonus, our server gave us a copy of the recipe!  I’ll make them and blog it sometime soon.

All in all, it was a wonderful way to spend Christmas Eve.  I definitely recommend paying this place a visit if you ever get the chance.

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Restaurant Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

