Sweet Potato Pancakes with Guacamole

This was Sunday brunch last weekend.  It was quite yummy, and provided some new twists for my palate.  I’ve made potato pancakes before, but always with russet potatoes, never sweet potatoes.  So that was new.  I also never thought to pair potato pancakes with guacamole, but it was delicious!  This came from Rachael Ray’s book “2, 4, 6, 8: Great Meals for Couples or Crowds”.  I must admit that I totally ignored her guacamole recipe and subbed in my own.  Matt loves my guacamole and claims it’s the best he’s ever had (don’t know about that!).  I’m quite a purist when it comes to guacamole, and my recipe is really classic.  I think one key difference is that I make mine in a molcajete, like they do in Mexico.  Anyway, enjoy!  And pair it with a good mimosa! 🙂

Ingredients:
Potato Pancakes:
Light oil, for frying
1 large Idaho potato, peeled and shredded
2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and shredded
1 small onion, peeled
1 egg, beaten
3 tbs all-purpose flour
1 tbs chili powder
2 tsp smoked paprika
2 tsp ground cumin
2 tsp ground coriander
Salt
Guacamole:
2 Hass avocados
1/2 red onion, chopped finely
1 large garlic clove, minced
1 lemon
1 serrano chile, minced
2 tbs cilantro, minced
Salt

Directions:
Potato Pancakes:
Heat about 1/3 cup oil over medium heat in a nonstick pan or skillet.
Squeeze the excess liquid out of the shredded potatoes. Either put them in a colander and press hard, or put them in a clean kitchen towel and wring it out until no more liquid can be squeezed out.
Place potatoes in a bowl, and grate the onion into them. Add the egg and flour, then the spices. Season to taste with salt. Drop the batter into the bowl using a spoon and your hands to make 2 1/2 inch pancakes. Fry in batches, adding more oil if you need to, until deeply golden on both sides. Drain on paper towels. You will get about 16 pancakes.
Guacamole:
Put the onion, chile, garlic and cilantro into a molcajete or bowl. Season with salt and stir if using a bowl; if using a molcajete, grind the veggies into the sides, releasing their juices. On a cutting board, split the avocados and cut into bite-size chunks. Squeeze lemon juice over them. Add them to the veggies, then salt them somewhat generously. If using a bowl, use a potato masher to mash them and incorporate them with the veggies. If using the molcajete, use a fork to mash them and stir everything together. Make your guacamole as chunky or smooth as you like. (At my house, it’s always pretty chunky).
To serve, spoon a nice mound of guacamole on top of each potato pancake. Enjoy!

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

