Indian Lamb Curry

This will conclude the last week of Arbitrary Project – Curry!  It’s installment 4, and, as promised, I used a different cookbook.  This came from “Real Kitchen” by Tyler Florence.  It was delicious!  I cut the recipe in half because I’m only cooking for two, but I’ll write it for the full amount.  The spice mix can go one of two ways: you can do as Tyler says, and toast whole spices and then grind them yourself, or you can just use already ground spices and skip the toasting step.  I honestly wanted to toast and grind my spices, but my spice grinder broke a few weeks ago and I haven’t replaced it yet. So I just used ground. Anyway, enjoy!

Ingredients:
Spice Mix:
2 tbs black mustard seeds
2 tsp coriander seeds
2 tsp ground cardamom
2 tsp cumin seeds
1/2 tsp whole black peppercorns
2 tbs garam masala
2 tsp turmeric
2 tsp red pepper flakes
1 cinnamon stick
Curry:
3 pounds boneless leg of lamb, trimmed of excess fat and cut into 1 inch cubes
Salt and pepper
Canola oil
1 onion, finely chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 tbs grated fresh ginger
2 bay leaves
3 cups chicken stock
1 cup tomato puree
Juice of 1/2 a lemon
2 Yukon Gold potatoes, peeled and cut into 1 inch cubes (make sure yours are cut small enough or they won’t cook through in the time allotted)
1/2 cup raisins (I say these are optional, but then again I dislike raisins)
1/2 cup blanched or slivered almonds
1 cup plain yogurt
Chopped fresh cilantro and/or mint, for garnish

Directions:
Spice Mix:
Toast all the whole spices in a dry skillet over low heat, just until fragrant. Transfer them, along with the already-ground spices to a spice mill and grind them. Leave out the cinnamon stick when you do this! If you use all already-ground spices, still use a cinnamon stick instead of ground cinnamon.
Curry:
Season the lamb generously with salt and pepper. Heat a drizzle of oil in a large Dutch oven over medium heat. Brown the lamb on all sides, working in batches if necessary. Remove to a plate. In the same pot, cook the onion, garlic, ginger, bay leaves, and all the toasted spices (including the cinnamon stick), in the lamb drippings, stirring occasionally, for about 3 minutes.
Return the lamb to the pot and pour in the chicken stock, tomato puree, and lemon juice. Bring to a simmer, cover, and cook over low heat for 45 minutes. Add the potatoes, raisins, and almonds. Season everything with salt and pepper. Stir to combine everything, cover, and cook for another 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Turn off the heat and mix in the yogurt. Garnish with cilantro and/or mint before serving.  And remember to fish out the cinnamon stick and bay leaves!  Serve over 1 to 2 cups of cooked white rice.

I’m very excited to begin Arbitrary Project – Macaroni and Cheese next week! Stay tuned!!

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Arbitrary Project, Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

