Greek Layered Dip

This is a play on Mexican Seven Layer Dip, which is one of my absolute favorite snack foods!  This dish made a few changes to its inspiration.  First of all, with the addition of the ground lamb, this became an entrée, although you could definitely use it as an appetizer or put it out at a cocktail party.  Secondly, it’s Greek, not Mexican.  So the ingredients are different, but the spirit remains the same.  I found this in a Sandra Lee book, “Cocktail Time.”  Usually I end up changing things in her recipes, because I personally think she is way over-reliant on processed and convenience foods.  But I really didn’t change much here.  This was a great meal, I loved it!

Ingredients:
1 (16 ounce) container of store bought regular hummus, or homemade if you prefer
1 pound ground lamb
Greek seasoning, found in the spice aisle of the grocery store
1 package of whole wheat pita breads, cut into eighths
1 1/2 cups of tzatziki sauce, she says to use store bought, but I did homemade (recipe and back story below)
1 cup shredded lettuce
2 Roma tomatoes, chopped
1/4 cup chopped Kalamata olives
1/2 cup chopped red onion
4 ounces feta cheese, crumbled

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 375 F. Toss pita wedges with olive oil and a sprinkling of Greek seasoning. Spread them out into a single layer on a baking sheet (this may require either two batches or two baking sheets). Bake for 7 to 10 minutes or until crispy and golden brown.
Meanwhile, in a large skillet, drizzle in a touch of olive oil over medium-high heat. Crumble in the ground lamb and cook until browned. Sprinkle with a couple teaspoons of Greek seasoning, plus salt and pepper to taste. Set aside to cool somewhat.
In a 2 1/2 quart baking vessel or shallow serving bowl, spread the hummus into a smooth layer on the bottom of it. Top with the ground lamb and smooth it out. Then the tzatziki sauce, smoothed out. Top with the lettuce, tomato, olives, red onion, and lastly the feta crumbles. Serve and enjoy!!

Here’s the back story on the tzatziki sauce. I had some leftover from a few weeks ago. So I put it into a zip-lock and froze it. Tzatziki is made from Greek yogurt. It freezes okay, but it doesn’t thaw okay. The yogurt reverts back to liquid form when it thaws. Problem. So, fortunately, I had a container of creme fraiche sitting in the fridge, and I used that, plus a teaspoon of chopped fresh oregano to thicken and liven it up. Worked perfectly! However, I don’t recommend going this route. Here’s the recipe I originally used. It comes from Michael Symon’s book “Live to Cook”.

TZATZIKI SAUCE:

(This will make four cups)
2 cups Greek yogurt
1 cucumber
Kosher salt
Juice of 2 lemons
3 tbs chopped fresh mint
1 tbs minced garlic
1 tbs minced shallot
Fresh cracked black pepper
-Grate the cucumber on a box grater. Put in a clean kitchen towel and squeeze out the excess moisture. Stir together the yogurt, cucumber, lemon juice, mint, garlic, and shallot in a medium bowl. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

