Thai Duck and Pineapple Curry

Here is my first installment of Arbitrary Project – Curry! It was really delicious. Very easy to make, too. I got this recipe from “The Essential Wok Cookbook”, which is a book I found in Borders a long time ago when I was just learning how to cook something other than spaghetti with meat sauce. To be completely honest, I don’t like most of the book and don’t use it very often. However, there are two chapters that always work out: Soups and Curries! This curry was no exception. Of course I served it with rice, and I’ve found that 1 cup of cooked rice is plenty for most curry recipes. Enjoy!

Ingredients:
1 Chinese roast duck, cut into bite size pieces (I found one in the deli section of my grocery store)
2 cups pineapple chunks, canned or fresh
1 bunch of scallions, cut into 1.5 inch pieces on the diagonal
2 garlic cloves, minced
2-4 tbs red curry paste
2 keffir lime leaves
14 ounce can of coconut milk
Salt and pepper
3 tbs cilantro, minced
3 tbs mint, minced

Directions:
Heat a wok over high heat. Add a drizzle of neutrally flavored oil and when it is smoking, add the scallions, garlic and curry paste. Stir for one minute. Add the coconut milk, lime leaves, duck, pineapple, and half the cilantro and mint. Bring to a boil, then simmer for ten minutes. It will thicken a little bit. Stir in the remaining herbs, and serve over rice. If you’re using dried lime leaves, then be sure you pull them out before serving. If you can’t find them where you shop/live, then replace it with a tablespoon of lime zest.

Stay tuned for another curry next week!

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Arbitrary Project, Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

