Frito Pie, an Interesting Pizza, and a HOT Date Night!

Here are the meals we had last week. All in all, a very tasty week!

* First up we have our Sunday brunch, which I found in my newest book. I’m quite the fan (groupie??) of Tyler Florence, so when he released a new cookbook last week, I picked it up. It’s called “Tyler Florence Family Meals” and it’s more cutting edge than some of his last few books. He’s apparently opening restaurants again (but not in New York, sadly enough), so some of the recipes are more restaurant fare than home cooking. Like everything he makes, it looks really good. The first recipe I tried turned out really well, it was entitled Big Breakfast Fry Up, and it was just a skillet of bacon, mushrooms, cherry tomatoes and fried eggs. I added some sharp cheddar because I had some lying around. It was quite yummy – very rustic!
* Next up we have Frito Pie!!! I hadn’t had that in years, and it was so delicious and comforting. For those of you not from Texas, Frito Pie is a staple down there. It’s really simple to make too, just take your chili, and put it in a bowl atop frito chips (the regular ones, not the Frito Scoops), and then top with whatever garnishes you like on your chili. I found the recipe in the latest issue of Chili Pepper Magazine (of course I would have a subscription to that one!), and this was a true Texas chili that I made – no beans. You can use whatever chili you love most for this recipe, but make sure it is really thick and meaty! Since moving away from Texas, where chili reigns supreme, I’ve noticed that some people up here call a dish chili, but it’s really more like taco soup. That would not work on Frito Pie, it will just make the chips soggy. Matt had NEVER had Frito Pie before last week, and he really loved it.
* This was an interesting dish I found in the November 2008 issue of Food & Wine magazine, and it was Tilapia with Preserved Lemon Aioli. I paired it with some sautéed asparagus. It was really good! Aioli is the French word for mayonnaise, and traditionally it’s made with egg yolks. This recipe just called for jarred mayo though. Preserved lemons are tangy goodness – they are lemons, cut up, that have been jarred in a vinegar solution, and mine are Moroccan, so they have saffron and other spices in there. I got mine at a specialty Indian grocer in Manhattan, and the next time I go there, I’ll have to do a blog post about it because it is so awesome! Anyway, this recipe turned out fantastic.
* Next up is Salade-aux-Lardons Pizza. This is kind of an Italian-French fusion dish, and it was amazing! It came from Fine Cooking Magazine. The pizza part is obviously Italian, and the salade-aux-lardons is a classic French bistro salad of greens, mustard vinaigrette, and crispy bacon. The pizza crust was brushed with Dijon mustard, then topped with Jarlsberg cheese, then cooked, then topped with crispy bacon, then topped with a salad of arugula, frisee, oil and white wine vinegar.
* Turkey, Potato, Leek Soup! This was delicious comfort food soup, and was so simple to make. I have some shredded cooked turkey in my freezer, so I’m always looking for ways to use it up. This was a fantastic way because the soup was wonderful! It hails from Cat Cora’s “Classics with a Twist”. And yes, I love serving soup in mugs!
* Last but not least, we have Date Night!!! It was a Jerk Pork Chops with Caribbean Sweet Potatoes. The chops weren’t too spicy and were really delicious. The potatoes, however, were almost too hot to eat! The recipe called for habanero powder, which is really hot stuff, and I should have measured it out instead of eyeballing it, I guess. I must have used too much of it. But overall tasty. Both recipes came from “Classics with a Twist” again. For dessert we had the most delicious Key Lime Bars I’ve ever had! Key Lime desserts are usually either too tart or cloyingly sweet. This was neither. It was really a perfect balance. It came from America’s Test Kitchen Magazine, which was a single magazine for which I have no subscription, that just randomly showed up in my mailbox a couple years ago. Confusing, but I won’t complain!

And that’s it for this past week! Hope you enjoyed it! 🙂
About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Frito Pie, an Interesting Pizza, and a HOT Date Night!

  1. Roselyn says:

    Wonderful meals, as usual, Julie! Looking that the breakfast picture almost gave me a heart attack, but I would LOVE to try that one. And frito pie is an all-time favorite. If it ever cools off here, I'm making a big pot of chili so we can have that! I love your recipes and pictures. You do a great job.

  2. Julie says:

    Thank you! Love the comments, I'm glad you're enjoying the blog! I didn't think about it when making it, but I suppose that breakfast dish was kind of a heart attack on a plate. Oh well, there's protein and veggies there too, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

