Last Week’s Meals

Here are a few of the meals we ate last week. Date Night will be a separate post. Enjoy!

For brunch we had Smoked Salmon Frittata. This was quite yummy! This came from the book “Barefoot Contessa Family Style” by Ina Garten, of course. I love smoked salmon and eat it a lot, I particularly love the lox spread for bagels. My grocery store sells a carton of that spread that we buy occasionally. I have tried to replicate it, but so far haven’t been able to make one that is as good as theirs. Anyone have a great recipe for it they’d like to share? 🙂 Anyway, if you’re not familiar with smoked salmon, or if you get a little weirded out by the fact that it’s technically not cooked, then this would be a good dish to try. The salmon cooks through in the oven, but doesn’t lose that wonderful smoky flavor.

Last Sunday night I decided to do an appetizer night. I love doing those, but don’t do them often because most of my favorite appetizers don’t have many veggies, and I try very hard to eat a good vegetable for every meal. But I found two recipes from the book “Giada at Home” that looked good. They were both excellent! First, I made Whole Wheat Pita Chips with Mascarpone and Bacon Dip. It was delicious! Unfortunately, it did not photograph well, so there is no picture. But the dip could not have been any easier to make. It was just mascarpone cheese, sour cream, bacon and chives. Obviously, not much on the nutrition factor, so to complement it I made Pea Pesto Bruschetta. This is the picture below. I found this to be really, really tasty. Matt, however, tried one, said it was pretty good, and then didn’t eat another one all night. Hmm…
Next up we have Keftedes with Tzatziki Sauce. These came from Michael Symon’s “Live to Cook” and they were really good! Keftedes are Greek meatballs, made from either ground lamb or beef (I used beef). They taste very different from the Italian style meatballs we Americans are used to. They are seasoned with some spices we don’t traditionally use, such as cinnamon and allspice. Also, you sprinkle lemon zest on top after they’re done, which sounded odd to me, but it was really flavorful. The dipping sauce is made from Greek yogurt, shredded cucumber, lemon juice, garlic and shallot. These could make a great appetizer for a cocktail party too, but we had them for dinner with spinach salad.

Last but not least, we have Individual Sausage and Pepper Strombolis. These were fantastic! It’s just pizza dough wrapped around Italian sausages with sautéed peppers and shredded provolone cheese. The top was crusted with a combination of sesame seed, parmesan, and chopped rosemary. They were great, and pretty easy to do. These came from a Rachael Ray book, “Just in Time”.
I will blog our Date Night from last week very soon, it was a special one! (Well, not a special occasion, just a really complex meal that was a little tough to pull off in my smallish kitchen).
About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

