A Culinary Trip Around the World to Places I’d Rather Not Visit

Apologies for abandoning my blog over the past few weeks!! It’s been hectic with work and I celebrated my 31st birthday during that time too. But now I’m back, and happy to be here!

This week of meals was really fun. I found several recipes I wanted to try that looked really interesting, and were from cuisines I don’t usually eat. So here they are…
* First up we have Lamb Satays from Jakarta, Indonesia. I found this recipe in Steven Raichlen’s “BBQ Bible”. Now there are some places in Indonesia I would LOVE to visit (hello, Bali anyone??), but Jakarta does not make that list as of yet. Too much political turmoil right now. However, after tasting these satays, it almost made me want to brave a riot to get them! They were really flavorful. It’s ground lamb mixed with a few spices and wrapped around a wooden skewer hot dog style, then grilled. While grilling, it was basted with a tamarind syrup, which made it kind of sweet.
* Next up: Bosnian Burgers! These also came from “BBQ Bible”. These were interesting! Not too different from American hamburgers in texture, but the flavor was way more subtle, and instead of topping it with cheese and/or condiments, it called for a red bell pepper salsa. The meat is a mixture of equal parts ground beef, pork, and veal. I’m very proud to say I used grass-fed beef and humane veal for this dinner. Overall, very good!
* Afghan Game Hens: These were amazing. I really love grilled poultry, and since game hens just taste like chickens, only they’re much smaller, this was a great meal for me. I butterflied the hens, and they are marinated in a mixture of spices, aromatics and yogurt before being grilled. I’m certainly no expert on Afghan food, but believe it or not there are several Afghan restaurants in Manhattan; and after tasting this meal I’m now very motivated to try some of them out! And this recipe also came from “BBQ Bible”. Can you tell that I kind of like that book? Haha!
* And last but not least on this culinary trip we have . . . Memphis Pulled Pork!! You’re probably wondering why I would put Memphis, TN in the same category as Jakarta, Bosnia, and Afghanistan. Well, have you ever been to the Memphis airport? I rest my case.
Anyway, this was Date Night, and it was really yummy! It had a delicious coleslaw to top it off, and I served it on Texas Toast, simply because I think that’s the absolute best way to have a barbecued meat sandwich, whether it be pulled pork, pulled chicken or brisket. For dessert we had a decadent Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie. That recipe came from Allrecipes.com. It’s a pie I’ve been making for several years now and we really love it. It’s a no-bake, easy, rich dessert.

I’ll be much better with my blogging from now on, promise!! 🙂
About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Culinary Trip Around the World to Places I’d Rather Not Visit

  1. Genevieve says:

    Ha! Great idea for a blog entry. (Although The King would object to your including Memphis.) Now I'm inspired to do something special for lunch today. North Korean Cambodian crab cakes??

  2. Mike says:

    I loved the Bosnian Burgers. They look somehow indecent :)Here is my own culinary trip around Asia (Mongolia, Buryatia, Korea):http://innovationimitation.com/2010/09/culinary-trip-summary/

Leave a Reply

