A Yummy Week of Pad Thai, Fish Tacos, and Other Meals

Here are our meals last week! Overall, a pretty tasty week. 🙂

* Pad Thai!!! I absolutely LOVE Pad Thai, and this was a great homemade version. It came from “Food Network Favorites” a book I use frequently from the Food Network kitchens. The only thing I was missing was bean sprouts, because I found out from a produce manager that they’d been recalled and were no where to be found. Oh well, still delicious without them.

* Sunday Brunch was a Roasted Red Pepper, Shrimp, and Feta Quiche Tart. It was really good. Pretty easy to throw together too, and this would be great for company coming over for brunch. This came from an older issue of Rachael Ray’s Magazine.
* Fried Chicken Tenders and Spinach Salad with Blue Cheese Dressing. This was really tasty. I really love baby spinach, so we eat a lot of it. The chicken tenders were skinless, so a little healthier, and they were double-dipped in buttermilk and a flour mixture. The dressing was what made the whole dinner, it was really tangy and delicious. It came from “Express Lane Meals” by Rachael Ray. I would definitely make it again!
* Turkey Chili! Before this meal last week, I hadn’t made chili since probably April. It’s just too hot when you don’t have central AC in the summer. Also, since I’ve moved to a location with actual textbook seasons, I’ve gotten really into seasonal cooking and eating. Summers are full of grilled meats and salads and light veggie pastas, whereas fall and winter are full of soups, stews, chili, and cheesy pastas. But this chili used ground turkey instead of beef, and no beans, so I gambled that it wouldn’t be too heavy. I also made it on a rainy day with a high in the low 70’s, so it really wasn’t too terribly hot. My gamble paid off! It was very satisfying and yummy. For the cheese topper, I used a habanero cheddar, and it was really good! I must warn you, though, it’s hot! Hotter than pepper jack cheese (which I love!). Overall a tasty, warm meal. It came from “Get Real Meals” by Rachael Ray.
* DATE NIGHT!!! For date night this past week, we had Grilled Fish Tacos for dinner and a Strawberry Shortcake Trifle for dessert. I unfortunately completely forgot to take a picture of the trifle, but it was quite pretty and very good. It came from “Daisy: Morning, Noon, and Night” by Daisy Martinez. The dinner came from the Top Chef cookbook, which is a pretty good book! Some things in there are very complicated, but everything seems to be delicious. The fish was grilled shrimp and seared tuna. The toppings for the tacos were a black bean and bacon sauté, a homemade salsa, and my homemade guacamole. It was really very good, and much lighter than the usual Baja fried fish tacos (not that those aren’t spectacular!).
About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

