Random Raspberry Dessert!

I had an extra pie crust lying around, so I remembered something I had growing up, and then made a little dessert out of it. My mom used to take a pie crust, cut it up into strips, sprinkle it with cinnamon and sugar, then bake it off. It was really yummy! So I did that, and topped it with a raspberry sauce and whipped cream. It turned out nicely, I will be adding it to my dessert repertoire. 🙂

Ingredients:

1 Pie crust, cut into strips

1 tbs sugar & 1 tsp cinnamon, mixed together

1 box raspberries

Water

1 tbs sugar

Juice of half a lemon

1 tsp cornstarch dissolved in 1 tbs water

2 tbs raspberry habanero sauce (You can get this from the Pampered Chef, it’s really good! Unless of course, you’re like me and have a friend give you some!! Thank you Amy!!)

Small carton of heavy whipping cream

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 ½ tsp sugar

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Sprinkle the cinnamon-sugar mixture liberally over the pie crust strips. Bake for 15 minutes. Remove and let cool slightly.

In a small saucepan over medium-high heat, combine raspberries, about 1/4 cup of water, sugar, lemon juice, raspberry habanero sauce, and cornstarch slurry. Stir, then let simmer until the raspberries have “dissolved” and the sauce is thick and somewhat syrupy. This takes about twenty minutes. Cool slightly, until not piping hot anymore.

Whip the cream with the vanilla extract and the remaining sugar until stiff peaks form.

To assemble, take a strip of baked pie crust, top with a few spoonfuls of the raspberry sauce, then a few dollops of whipped cream. Enjoy!!

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

