DrPepper Can Chicken

You’ve heard of Beer Can Chicken, right? Where you stuff a can of beer in the cavity of a whole chicken and then roast or grill it standing up? Well, I did a similar concept with a can of my favorite soda, DrPepper. You may be wondering what I am doing with soda since I am, after all, a self-proclaimed health nut, and it’s a fair question. Simply put, it’s my vice. It’s the one processed food I can’t give up. I know it’s not good for me. I know about all the high-fructose corn syrup and artificial flavorings. I just don’t care enough to eliminate it from my diet. I do limit my intake of it pretty carefully though (most of the time!).

I spent a lot of time thinking about how to season a chicken that’s being roasted on a can of DrPepper. I finally settled on a combination of chipotle, cherry, garlic and vanilla. I suppose that may sound a little weird, but it turned out really delicious. Enjoy!!


Ingredients:

1 whole 3-4 lb chicken

1 can DP, half poured out

1 tbs brown sugar

1 ½ tsp chipotle chili powder

2 tsp sweet paprika

S & P

¼ cup pitted cherries

2 chipotle chiles in adobo

3 tsp honey

½ tsp vanilla extract

1 garlic clove

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 F. In a small bowl, mix the brown sugar, chile powder and paprika. Season the chicken all over with salt and pepper. Then mix most of the rub onto all sides of the chicken. Put the rest of the rub in the opened can of DrPepper. Don’t worry if it fizzes.

In a small food processor, combine the cherries, chipotles in adobo, honey, vanilla extract, and garlic clove. Process until ground to a fine paste. Using a pastry brush, coat the chicken liberally with the paste. Position the chicken over the can so that it is sitting upright. Fold the legs together to ensure even cooking.

Roast at 350 F for about 1 to 2 hours, depending on the size of your chicken. Use a meat thermometer to ensure doneness, but to avoid overcooking. You want it to read 165 F when inserted in the middle of the breast. When done, remove from oven, CAREFULLY remove with tongs from the can, let rest for about ten minutes, then carve and serve!

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

