A Change in the Blog Format

I am going to change my blog format a little bit. Work is really busy for me lately, and there are so many dishes I want to share, but I don’t have time to write them all out. And I’m also finding that I’ve been neglecting the travel aspect of this blog, which I don’t want to do. So I’m going to post the meals I want to share, along with pictures and descriptions, but without writing the entire recipe out, unless I feel compelled to do so. However, if you are reading this and you see a dish where you would like the recipe for it, please do not hesitate to contact me and I will get it to you, either by posting it on the blog or emailing it to you! So, enjoy!! Here are the dishes we’ve eaten in the last week or so…

* Date Night from a week ago: we did a Moroccan/Middle Eastern Feast, and it turned out really well. I made a Moroccan spiced whole grilled chicken, which I butterflied myself! So proud, because I usually just get the butcher to do it. This dish came from “The Food You Want to Eat” by Ted Allen. I paired that with Baba Ghanoush (or however you spell it – I’ve seen it spelled at least three different ways). BG is a charred, pureed eggplant dip, somewhat similar to hummus. I made it from scratch, and also crisped up some pita chips that I dusted with sumac and sea salt. That recipe came from “Tangy, Tart, Hot and Sweet” by Padma Lakshmi (she is the host and one of the judges on Bravo’s Top Chef). I love that book! Then there was dessert: Triple Ginger Cheesecake, which came from Fine Cooking Magazine’s April/May 2010 issue. The 3 forms of ginger are a gingersnap crust, and then ground ginger and minced crystallized ginger in the cheesecake itself. It was also quite delicious.

Moroccan Spiced Chicken

Baba Ghanoush with Sumac Dusted Pita Crisps

Triple Ginger Cheesecake
* Last Sunday’s brunch was out of this world delicious: Cinnamon Pancetta Waffles! I found them in my newest cookbook, “Giada at Home” by Giada de Laurentiis. They were simple to do – just add crispy chopped pancetta and some ground cinnamon to some good quality waffle mix. I think next time I will add water, like she says, instead of whole milk. The milk made them a little dense. But overall, very good!
* Lemon Orzotto with Pork. This was very good, and used a cooking technique I’d not really used before. Orzotto is orzo (rice-shaped) pasta cooked in the style of risotto. I’ve made risotto with arborio rice in the usual way before, but never done it with pasta. It’s really the same cooking technique, and it turned out delicious. It came from “Everyday Pasta” by Giada de Laurentiis.
* Matt’s birthday dinner! My husband Matt celebrated his birthday last Wednesday, and requested one of his favorite meals: Jerked Chicken Frybreads with Slaw and Habanero Sauce. And for dessert, he wanted a homemade spin on the new Ben & Jerry’s peanut brittle ice cream. So I made a homemade Vanilla Bean Ice Cream with Chocolate Peanut Butter Brittle. All of it turned out great. The chicken dish comes from “The Mesa Grill Cookbook” by Bobby Flay. As you’re probably well aware, Bobby Flay is the owner/chef of his famous Mesa Grill restaurant with locations in NY and Vegas, and I think there’s one in the Bahamas now too. We’ve eaten at the NY locale, and it’s really delicious. So a few years ago, Flay put out a cookbook with dishes served at Mesa Grill, and I didn’t hesitate to grab it. Everything in there is a little complicated to make, but well worth the effort! Frybreads are sort of like a tostada shell, but they are actually made with a dough that is then fried, so it’s a little like frying up a pie crust. We actually don’t just make them for snacking all the time, and I couldn’t begin to tell you where that will-power comes from. They are so crispy and delicious. I made a basic, but really amazing vanilla bean ice cream from “Cooking from the Hip” by Cat Cora, and the brittle came from a Rachael Ray Magazine – one of the older ones, November 2007. I don’t keep buying her magazines anymore. I still like her and her food, but the newer magazine format just doesn’t work for me. Anyway, Matt loved his dinner, so enjoy the pics!

Jerked Chicken Frybreads

Vanilla Bean Ice Cream with Chocolate Peanut Butter Brittle
That’s it for now! I’ll see if this new format works, and if it doesn’t, then I’ll just figure out something new! Enjoy!
About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

