Frozen Hot Chocolate


I don’t know who came up with this idea, but they are a genius!! This is basically taking the ingredients for hot chocolate, throwing them in the blender with ice, and there you go! It was really rich and yummy. I found this recipe in Fine Cooking Magazine, in their latest issue (August/September 2010). I had some extra cream, so I whipped it with a dash of vanilla extract and put that on top of the drink. As written this will serve 4 glasses. Enjoy!!

Ingredients:
1 cup whole milk or half-n-half
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup natural unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
3/4 tsp pure vanilla extract
Kosher salt
2 cups ice cubes
3 tbs bittersweet chocolate shavings (made with a vegetable peeler)
Directions:
Blend the milk, cream, cocoa, sugar, vanilla and a pinch of salt in the blender until well combined and the sugar is dissolved. Add the ice and blend until just slushy. Transfer to glasses, top with whipped cream, if using, and the chocolate shavings. Serve immediately with spoons. 🙂
About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Frozen Hot Chocolate

  1. Roselyn says:

    Julie, this sound great! I can't wait to try it.Aunt Roselyn

  2. Julie says:

    Thanks! Have fun in Europe!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

