Spaghetti with Mint and Pea Pesto


This was really good and healthy. I used whole wheat pasta, even though the recipe didn’t specify, and it worked quite well. There’s a funny back story to this meal I have to tell. I like peas, but Matt HATES them. So it’s become a personal challenge that I’ve taken to something of an extreme (would I ever do that?) – that of trying to get him to eat/like peas. There are peas pureed in this pesto. I didn’t tell him that. I made sure to make the pesto when he wasn’t home, and I made sure not to have the cookbook out where he could see it. So I served it, he took several bites, I asked him if he liked it. He said yes rather enthusiastically! So I of course burst out laughing and began taunting him about the peas in it. I think I have won our little game/war. But he claims that I haven’t, because he said he couldn’t taste the peas and never would have guessed they were in there. What do you think? 🙂

Anyways, the pasta is quite good, and as you can see, it’s a great way to hide a nutritious vegetable, so enjoy!! Oh yeah, it comes from the cookbook “Cooking Made Light” by Sandra Lee, and I don’t really have to change her recipe any.
Ingredients:
1 pound (1 box) of spaghetti or other long-cut pasta
1 cup frozen peas, thawed
4 cups packed fresh basil leaves
1 1/2 cups packed fresh mint leaves
2 tbs chopped walnuts
5 whole garlic cloves, roasted if desired (I didn’t desire and it worked just fine)
3/4 cup chicken stock
1 tbs Extra-virgin olive oil
Kosher salt and black pepper
Directions:
Bring a large pot of water to a boil and cook pasta according to package directions. Drain well.
In a food processor, combine basil and mint. Cover and process until finely chopped. I had to do this in two batches. Add walnuts and garlic, process again. While food processor is running, stream in the chicken stock and EVOO. Stop processor, add the peas, then process again until they are pureed in there. Season to taste with salt and pepper.
Toss the pesto with the cooked pasta. Serve with Parmesan cheese if you like. You can also save a few peas for a garnish, but obviously I did NOT do this! 🙂
About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spaghetti with Mint and Pea Pesto

  1. Matthew says:

    Fine…I'll just have to trick you into liking coffee…

Leave a Reply

