Pecorino and Bean Salad


I cannot stress enough how delicious this salad/side dish was! I paired it with a simple fillet of salmon, just grilled with salt, pepper and olive oil. So yummy and healthy! The salad came from one of my newest cookbooks, “Giada at Home” by of course, Giada de Laurentiis. It’s her newest book, and if every dish in here is as good as this one, then I’d say I made a good purchase. I apologize for the less-than-stellar quality of the picture, I snapped one pic, then the camera battery died and I couldn’t get any more. So this is it! She calls for blanching, draining and then ice bath-ing the green beans, but that sounded like too much trouble at the time, so I simply sautéed the beans with the garlic and rosemary. I’ll write it as I made it. Enjoy!!

Ingredients:
12 ounces green beans, trimmed and cut into 1 inch pieces
3 tbs olive oil
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 tsp finely chopped fresh rosemary leaves
1 (15 ounce) can of cannellini beans, rinsed and drained (I highly recommend rinsing them for this dish – sometimes I skip that step too)
5 ounces Pecorino Romano cheese, cut into 1/4 inch chunks
1/4 cup fresh flat-leaf parsley, chopped
Salt and pepper
Directions:
Preheat a large skillet over medium-high heat with 1 tbs olive oil. Add the green beans and cook for just a few minutes, until they are slightly cooked but not wilted and not browned. This will take about 3-4 minutes if I remember correctly. Add the garlic and rosemary and sauté for another minute, no more. Shut off the heat. Don’t expose the green beans to too much heat or they will lose their crispiness that makes this salad great.
In a serving bowl, combine the green beans and garlic and rosemary mixture, along with all the oil in the pan. Also stir in the cannellini beans, the parsley, the cheese and 2 additional tbs olive oil. Add salt and pepper to taste. Toss and serve.
About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

