Spaghetti with Artichokes and Pancetta

This recipe came from Food and Wine Magazine’s April 2010 issue. The recipe was submitted by Mario Batali. It was really, really good. Very light for a pasta dish, and great for hot weather. He calls for 8 baby artichokes; I couldn’t find baby artichokes, so I just used one package of frozen artichoke hearts, thawed and each cut in half lengthwise. Enjoy!!

Ingredients:
1 package frozen artichokes, thawed and cut in half lengthwise
EVOO
1 medium onion, finely chopped
4 garlic cloves, minced
2 ounces pancetta, diced
1/2 cup dry white wine
Kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper
1 pound spaghetti
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese, plus more for serving

Directions:
Get water boiling for pasta. Once it’s boiling, salt it generously, then drop in the spaghetti and cook according to package directions. Drain.
Meanwhile, preheat a large saucepan or skillet to medium-high heat with a drizzle of EVOO. Add in the pancetta and cook until it’s crispy. Remove with a slotted spoon and drain on paper towels. Pour out all but 1 tbs of fat in the pan (I didn’t have to pour out anything). Add onion and garlic and saute until softened. Then add artichokes to warm them through, then deglaze the pan with the wine. Let it cook off a bit, then season with salt and pepper.
After you drain the pasta, add it to the onion/artichoke mixture along with the reserved pancetta. Also add 1/4 cup starchy pasta water. Toss together. Let it thicken up for a few minutes, then shut off the heat. Stir in the 1/4 cup parmesan cheese, then serve with more cheese.

I have to admit I used a bit more than 2 oz of pancetta – probably twice that much. I used the entirety of a deli sliced package I picked up. 🙂

About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

