Catfish Po’Boys

I made these last night. The recipe comes from Fine Cooking Magazine, the Feb/Mar 2010 issue. Matt and I took a long weekend to New Orleans at the end of February of this year. I had at least 2 of these sandwiches while there, and I haven’t been able to stop thinking about them since! So I had one again last night, and they were extremely delicious. Recipe as written will make 2 hoagie style sandwiches. Enjoy!!

Ingredients:

3 cups coleslaw mix (or finely shredded romaine hearts if you can’t find coleslaw mix at the last minute)

1/4 cup mayonnaise

1 tbs cider vinegar

2 tsp granulated sugar

1 tsp celery seed

2 large eggs

3/4 cup yellow cornmeal

2 tbs all-purpose flour

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

1/2 tsp Old Bay seasoning

1/4 tsp cayenne powder

2 large catfish fillets, cut into several pieces

2 hoagie rolls, split and toasted

1 3/4 cups canola oil

Dill pickle slices, or sliced tomatoes, your preference

Directions:

Combine the coleslaw, mayonnaise, vinegar, sugar, and celery seed in a bowl. Refrigerate until ready to use.

Beat the eggs with a splash of water in a wide shallow bowl (I use a pie plate for stuff like this). In another bowl, combine cornmeal, flour, a sprinkling of salt and pepper, and the Old Bay and cayenne. Season the fish with salt and pepper. Then dredge in the egg mixture, then dregde in cornmeal mixture. Shake off excess.

Heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium to medium-high heat. It’s ready for frying when a few drops of cornmeal start bubbling immediately. Fry the catfish pieces, in batches if necessary, until browned and cooked through. This took about 8 or so minutes for me.

To assemble sandwiches: on bottom bun, place generous amounts of coleslaw mix, then top with pickles or tomatoes, then top with catfish pieces. Top the sandwich, cut in half, then serve hot. Enjoy, they are soooo good!!!
About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

