Subtly Spicy Chocolate Brownies

Since I have Baking in the title of my blog, I figured that at some point I should include a baked recipe, right? So here is the first one! It’s a delicious brownie recipe found in an older “Everyday with Rachael Ray” magazine, the February/March 2006 issue. These brownies turned out really well; very rich and moist and delicious. I like to bake occasionally, and I admit to having a sweet tooth, but I don’t like to keep all those calories sitting around all week. So I baked these Sunday night, ate one, Matt ate one, then he took the rest to work with him. He said they were a big hit and were gone w/in a few hours. Of course, his co-workers react to free food like college freshmen cramming for final exams, but still! Enjoy, everyone!

Ingredients:

8 ounces good-quality bittersweet chocolate, chopped into pieces

1 stick unsalted butter, cut into pieces

Cooking spray or extra butter for greasing the pan

1 cup white granulated sugar

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tsp pure chili powder, such as ancho (next time I make these, I will up this amount to at least 2 tsp, maybe 1 tbs, just b/c I love spicy foods and I couldn’t really taste the chili powder)

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

4 large eggs

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Butter or spray a 9-by-13-inch baking pan.

Place the chocolate and butter in a medium saucepan (or fashion a double-boiler with a glass bowl set over a small saucepan of simmering water), and melt over low heat, stirring until smooth. Remove from heat immediately once it’s all melted together. Whisk in both sugars until smooth.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, cocoa powder, chili powder, baking powder, and salt. Once the chocolate mixture is cooled to the point of only slightly warm, whisk the eggs into it, one at a time, working rather quickly so they don’t scramble. Add the flour mixture in batches, whisking as you go. Do not overmix.

Pour the brownie mixture into the prepared pan, smooth into an even layer, then bake for about 20 to 25 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Mine took 22 minutes.

Serve plain, or with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, or with whipped cream, if you so desire!
About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

