Mushroom Swiss Burgers

These were our dinner last night. It’s a recipe I made up a couple of years ago when I was searching for the perfect mushroom swiss burger recipe and couldn’t find one I really liked. So, I just made up my own, and it works pretty well! I hope y’all like it! Serves 4 as written.

Ingredients:

1 lb. ground sirloin

A decent handful of medium-sized cremini or white button mushrooms (sorry for the vague-ness, I’m terrible at measuring mushroom quantities and always guess at amounts in the grocery store)

2 tbs butter

4 hamburger buns, toasted if desired

Leaves from 3 fresh thyme sprigs

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 tbs Worcestershire sauce, plus a couple of dashes

1/4 cup dry vermouth

8 thin deli slices of Swiss cheese

Kosher salt and fresh cracked black pepper

A pinch of crushed red pepper

Directions:

Wipe the mushrooms with a damp paper towel, then slice them. Add butter to a nonstick skillet preheated to medium-high heat. When melted, add the mushrooms, thyme leaves, and garlic and saute until softened and cooked through. Add the vermouth and the dashes of Worcestershire sauce and cook off. Season with salt and pepper. Keep on low heat until needed to top the burgers.

In a large bowl, mix the meat with the tbs Worcestershire sauce, red pepper flakes, and salt and pepper. Form into four patties. Preheat a skillet, or an indoor or outdoor grill to medium-high heat. Cook burgers to your desired doneness, about 5 minutes per side for medium. When you flip the burgers, immediately top with several spoonfuls of the mushrooms, then add the two slices of Swiss cheese to each burger. Tent with foil to melt the cheese. Remove when finished cooking, place burger on bottom bun, then top with the top bun. Serve and enjoy!
About jwall915

I love to cook and I love to travel! This blog explores my love of both. I share recipes and restaurant reviews, and I blog the trips I take.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

